Santa Monica

Santa Monica`
Oh, how I love this place!
Armando used to think we needed a special program with games and songs. What he didn’t realize is that more than games and music these children just want to be loved. They want to touch and be touched.
One little boy, who was new to me, kept coming up and kissing me and petting me. And when I got busy with others he moved on to another member of the crew and repeated the process. Would I love to take that one home!

Kory, a young man from my church had give me dozens of packs of assorted gum. I told them one each only. I was immediately mobbed by many many children thrusting their little hands out. I passed out “chicklets” as rapidly as I could but the group around me did not diminish. When I took time to look up I began to recognize familiar faces. When I looked closed I noticed a slight jaw movement. so before I gave them a piece I asked them to open their mouths. Ah ha! They drifted backwards only to return moments later with an empty mouth. No matter. The color of their tongues and lips gave them away.

We broke out balloons and spent the rest of the time just playing.

Jorge, a perennial favorite, Down Syndrome boy, melts my heart every time. He is going to school some and seems much happier, for which I aam eternally grateful.

There were tears when we left, al of them ours.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment